Oreo chocolate cake

My husband recently had a birthday and he asked for an Oreo cake so I decided I would try to make one.

I am guilty of using boxed cake but to my defense no one can tell the difference. I just make sure I pull them out of the oven just before they are about done so they are nice and moist.

The trick to getting them to be flat and even is to refrigerate the layers over night and then cut the rounded top off with a cake knife or I used a large bread knife. I also used a round spring board pan to insure that my cake came out in one piece. Being refrigerated will also keeps the crumbs away when you are frosting.

I used 2 boxes of chocolate fudge cake from Betty Crocker and my own recipe of butter cream frosting. I smashed up about 10 Oreos and added it to the frosting while mixing.

Oreo Butter cream frosting:

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup smashed Oreos

Directions

With a hand mixer , mix together sugar and butter until smooth. Mix on low speed then increase speed to medium and mix for another 3 minutes. Add vanilla and cream. Add more cream if needed. Then add Oreos and mix until blended.

*note-I doubled this recipe

Now time to build your cake!

I made 3 layers of cake and put a generous amount of frosting between each layer. Then the trick to get the top layer to look perfect is to flip it upside down. Then I smoothed on the rest of the frosting and piped some swirls on top for the Oreos to stand on and then crushed up a few Oreos and sprinkled them over the top of the cake and pressed them on the sides.

IMG_4485

IMG_4489

I was so happy with how the cake turned out and it taste so yummy! My husband was a very happy birthday boy!

Leave a Reply

