Broccoli Cheese Soup & Grilled Turkey Sandwich

Lately I’ve been trying to make new recipes to share with you all but its been a lot of miss more than hit. I like to blame the source, but who knows.

A little thing about me is that I hate sea food. Yes, that strong word, hate is necessary. The other day I made a pad thai from a recipe I found from William Sonoma, and it called for fish sauce. I didn’t think it’d make the whole thing taste like stinky fish! I threw the whole things out and my house smelled like fish vinegar for a few days. Such a fail.

So the point is, not all my meals turn out good and are blog worthy. Sometimes my poor husband has to resort to cereal for dinner. But I’m still learning and what does turn out good I will share it with you and try my best to make it fool proof.

Here’s a new recipe from my favorite food blogger Pioneer Women  <—look! I figured out how to do a direct link 🙂

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole onion, diced. (I skipped the onion, because I don’t like them in my soup)
  • 1 stick 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups half and half
  • 4 heads broccoli cut into florets
  • 1 pinch nutmeg
  • 3 cups grated cheddar cheese (mild, sharp, whatever your heart desires)
  • small dash of salt (more if needed, I needed a lot more actually)
  • fresh ground pepper
  • chicken broth if needed for thinning (I used a splash)

Instructions:

Melt butter in a large pot over medium heat, then add onions, if you like them. Cook the onions for 3-4 mins, then sprinkle flour over the top. Stir to combine and cook for about 1 minute.

IMG_3731IMG_3732

Pour in your milk and half and half. Add nutmeg, then add broccoli, a dash of salt and plenty of black pepper.

IMG_3735IMG_3737

Cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer until the broccoli is tender. Took mine about 45 mins. Stir in cheese and allow to melt.

IMG_3742

Taste and adjust. I added a load of salt and pepper til I got it right. Mash up with a potato masher to break up broccoli or you can transfer to a blender to puree. If you puree, return to stove to allow it to heat up again. Splash in chicken broth if you want it to be thinner. I splashed in a bit for flavor and to thin a little.

Grilled Turkey Sandwich with Pesto Mayo

My favorite place to eat is Corner Bakery, so I wanted to create a sandwich to dip in my soup. yum yum!

ingredients:

  • sliced sour dough bread
  • mayo
  • pesto
  • turkey
  • provolone cheese
  • butter

Instructions:

Mix up equal parts of pesto and mayo for the spread.

IMG_3738IMG_3739

Spread on both pieces of bread, add cheese to both sides and add turkey.

IMG_3740

butter top for grilling

IMG_3741

Grill them up and enjoy!

IMG_3743

I like to dunk them in my soup, hardly use the spoon.

IMG_3745

Now I can enjoy my favorite Corner Bakery meal at home!

Thanks for reading!

xo,

J

Leave a Reply

