Ryland turns 2! A Pixar Cars celebration.

I can’t believe my baby is already 2! I want him to stay little forever!! Although I was sad that it is inevitable that my boy is growing up, I was also happy to create this special day for him to celebrate his birthday. It was so fun planning and preparing for his bday, Ryland loves cars so I wanted to create his own Radiator Springs. With lots of help from my husband and family, the party was a huge success! Here’s a few pics from his party…

FullSizeRender (9)FullSizeRender (15)FullSizeRender (14)FullSizeRender (10)FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender (8)FullSizeRender (5)FullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRender (6)FullSizeRender (17)FullSizeRender (16)FullSizeRender (7)FullSizeRender (3)

My secret to making a box cake taste homemade is all about the frosting! Most of the time I use box cake because it’s easier and I really don’t think it taste much different… I make sure that I take the cake out right before its done so its nice and moist and another secret is, I use olive oil instead on vegetable oil. I know you’re probably thinking that it’s so gross to use olive oil and it’ll add that olive taste but I think that It makes it taste better and more moist… I actually made it like that on accident because all I had was olive oil and I make it like that every time now… ok, back to the frosting, I never use that canned frosting, homemade frosting is so easy so why not. I found a recipe a while back for butter cream frosting and use it every time. unless the cake calls for cream cheese frosting that I absolutely love! The butter cream frosting is really thick and creamy and ices a cake really smooth. I get lots of compliments on my cakes and the magic is in the frosting 🙂

FullSizeRender (13)

Butter Cream Frosting-

Ingredients-

3 cups confectioners powdered sugar

1 cup butter

1 teaspoon whipping cream

Directions

With a hand mixer, mix together sugar and butter. I usually cube the butter so it’s easier to blend. Mix on low speed until well blended and then increase speed to medium and mix for another 3 minutes.

Add vanilla and cream and mix on medium for another minute.

all done! good bye canned frosting!!

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

4 ounces of unsalted butter, softened

4 ounces of cream cheese, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Directions

with an electric hand mixer, mix together the butter and cream cheese on low til blended. With the mixer on low speed, add the powdered sugar a cup at a time until smooth and creamy. Then mix in the vanilla. *To add a little Christmas magic to it add a teaspoon of cinnamon 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

J

Leave a Reply

